Review – Def Jam Rapstar

Images and videos courtesy of Def Jam, G4TV, and Youtube.

Hmmm… could Hip-hop music become a good addition to a party game? Of course. Rock Band DLC has attempted to implement this genre recently by adding some Snoop Dog tracks to the Rock Band mix but it does not feel the same because Rock band is well, Rock band. 
Enter Def Jam Superstar. Basics of the game; the original video of whatever track your spitting to plays on the screen, the words scroll across the TV for the player to rap to, and the player has the option of seeing yourself perform with the PSEye or Xbox camera depending on which system you use. You also can save a copy of your performance and upload it. The track list is abundant with old school, East/West coast hip-hop, Southern, and newer tracks.
Downloadable tracks are also available as well as a freestyle feature where players can freestyle over included beats. Vocals of the original tracks can also be removed so that the players voice is only heard. This is the same feature that is available in Rock Band. The largest complaint I have heard about the game is that the tracks are edited and kill some of the songs. As with most hip-hop, F bombs and such are abundant but are cut out of the songs in this game. Come on developers, no censored on/off option?

If you are a hip-hop lover and like to play Rock Band consider giving Def Jam Rap Star a go and make it an addition to your Party. 
Def Jam Rapstar Tracklist:

  • 2Pac – “I Get Around”
  • 50 Cent – “I Get Money”
  • Big Pun feat. Joe – “Still Not a Player”
  • Biz Markie – “Just A Friend” 
  • Das Bo – “Türlich, Türlich” [Germany only]
  • Diddy feat. The Notorious B.I.G., Lil’ Kim & The Lox – “It’s All About The Benjamins” (Remix)
  • Dizzee Rascal – “Fix Up, Look Sharp” [UK only]
  • DJ Khaled feat. Akon, T.I., Rock Ross, Fat Joe, Baby & Lil’ Wayne – “We Takin’ Over”
  • Dr. Dre feat. Snoop Dogg – “Nuthin’ But a ‘G’ Thang”
  • Drake – “Best I Ever Had”
  • Ice Cube – “Today Was A Good Day”
  • Jim Jones – “We Fly High”
  • Kanye West feat. Jamie Foxx – “Gold Digger”
  • Kool Savas – “Futurama” [Germany only]
  • Lil’ Wayne – “A Milli”
  • LL Cool J – “Mama Said Knock You Out”
  • Ludacris – “Stand Up”
  • Method Man feat. Mary J. Blige – “You’re All I Need/I’ll Be There For You”
  • Nas feat. Diddy – “Hate Me Now”
  • Nelly – “Hot In Herre”
  • The Notorius B.I.G. – “Juicy”
  • NTM feat. Lord Ko – “Ma Benz” [France only]
  • Onyx – “Slam”
  • Outkast – “So Fresh, So Clean”
  • Oxmo Puccino – “Mama Love” [France only]
  • Pete Rock and CL Smooth – “They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)”
  • Public Enemy – “Fight The Power”
  • Redman and Method Man – “Da Rockwilder”
  • Run-D.M.C. – “Run’s House”
  • Salt-N-Pepa – “Push It”
  • Sefyu – “Molotov 4” [France only]
  • Sido – “Mein Block” (Beathoavenz remix) [Germany only]
  • Slick Rick – “Children’s Story”
  • T.I. feat. Rihanna – “Live Ya Life”
  • Tinchy Stryder feat. N-Dubz – “Number 1” [UK only]
  • Tinie Tempah – “Pass Out” [UK only]
  • A Tribe Called Quest – “Scenario”
  • Wu Tang Clan – “C.R.E.A.M.”
  • Young Jeezy feat. Kanye West – “Put On”
  • Yung Joc feat. Nitti – “It’s Goin’ Down”
  • Busta Rhymes – “Put Your Hand’s Where My Eyes Can See”
  • DMX – “Ruff Ryder’s Anthem”
  • Fat Joe feat. Terror Squad – “Lean Back”
  • Ja Rule feat. Ashanti – “Always on Time”
  • Lil’ Jon – “Get Low”
  • Public Enemy – “Can’t Truss It”
  • Twista feat. Kanye West and Jamie Foxx – “Slow Jamz”
  • Beastie Boys – “Brass Monkey”
  • Kanye West – “Stronger”
  • Lil’ Kim – “Crush On You”
  • Notorious B.I.G. – “Big Poppa”
  • Rob Base – “It Takes Two
  • Snoop Dogg – “Gin and Juice”
  • Soulja Boy Tell’em – “Turn My Swag On”

Instrumental tracks

  • 9th Wonder – “Jamla”
  • 9th Wonder – “The Academy”
  • Bangladesh – “Gutter”
  • Bangladesh – “Patron”
  • Boi-1da – “Dance”
  • Cool & Dre – “Epidemic”
  • Cool & Dre – “Public Enemy”
  • Danja – “Nars”
  • DJ Khalil – “The Good Doctor”
  • DJ Khalil – “LAX”
  • DJ Premier – “Go Back”
  • DJ Premier – “JJ’s Beat”
  • Just Blaze – “8 Bit”
  • Just Blaze – “On The One”
  • Nitti Beats – “Hand’s Up”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s